The quarter-life crisis and an impending new year.

2013 has probably been the toughest year of mine, and it looks like 2014 is gonna be even tougher.  Life is going to change this year, for better or worse.  A lot of decisions will have to be made, that will determine the course of my life, both in terms of relationships as well as in my career.  With Shreya finishing her course in the summer, things are gonna be different for a while.  And it is crucial that I find a way out of the idiots teach idiots scenario in college and start working my ass off towards a better career either with a good company or with my own.

On a personal note, I have decided to keep my interactions with people to a minimum, my reasons for the same is not to be divulged here, but most of you can easily guess.  People say I have a huge ego problem, but I have a strong feeling, that my observation skills are impeccable that I can measure the depth of relationships far easier than others, but my problem is that I am a nice guy most of the time and I try to not to pay attention to these voices in my head that keeps telling me, to ask them to die.  But I realized over the past few months, that it has to stop somewhere.  One of my key resolutions this year, is to perfect those relationships that needs to be perfected and prune those relationships that have just existed just because they existed.

Aside from that, my startup is beginning to take shape, and my prototype will mostly be ready by the end of this month and the betas would be deployed in a months time.  The startup has been a one-man show up till now and I am looking for a technical co-founder as of now.  I will be writing a startup related post soon enough.

On a personal note, I have been busy with the interiors of my new apartment, and realized that I would have made a kick ass architect, but drawing is not a skill that comes naturally to me.  But give me a computer, and I can show you magic.  Anyways, the apartment has a good view of the sea and the setting sun in the evenings, and in a years time, I would be moving to the new apartment and setting up base there.  Well mostly my mom would live there, as I would probably be running around with/for a job.

Another, important resolution I did take for the new year is to read and write the old fashioned way, and maybe even read a couple of Malayalam novels.  I still love Malayalam more than any other language out there.  And write, yes, you can see that from the blog.  My writing is definitely going to get more frequent now.  But I may switch platforms from wordpress for some posts as I think Medium is the next revolution in online publishing.  The interface and the the overall UX is quite refreshing.

The other things on my list of things to accomplish this year would be:

  1. Lose weight – This has been on the backburner for a couple of years, but I think with placements around the corner, I think its time, I shed a few pounds.  And then there is the fact that my girlfriend would chop me up into little pieces if I don’t lose weight.  She is my only hope, seriously.
  2. Learn a new language –  I know this is cliched, but I am not talking about language as in a foreign language.  I am a comp-sci student, language would mean C, C++, etc.  I’m thinking advanced Python, and some data analysis frameworks and tools in Python, should help me introduce more intelligent features for my startup.
  3. This is perhaps my most ambitious dream for 2014.  – 50,000 rupees in profits from my startup.  There is a long way to go before, that, but this has to be done within 2014 or else, I have vowed to myself, I will never go after a new venture ever again and would lead a normal life, working 9 to 5,6,7,8,9 in a company.  I will write a post on why I want to be an entrepreneur soon.
  4. Do an epic event, that I and a few others have been planning for months.  CodeX, that is how I will leave a mark for my college career.

That is more than enough, If I can accomplish even a few of these, I win.

Leave a Reply

